South Asia Cultural Reassertion and Divergent Economic Strategies

- I. India (independence 1947)
 - A. Population
 - 1941 = 319 million (including what became East and West Pakistan)
 - 1960 = 435 million (not including East and West Pakistan)
 - 1990 = 815 million
 - 2000 = 1 billion
 - B. GNP per person in 1990 = US\$360
 - C. Government (Federal republic)
 - 1. Jawaharlal Nehru (1889–1964), Prime Minister, 1947–1964
 - a. industrialization policies
 - b. on-going conflict with Pakistan over Kashmir
 - c. border conflict with China, 1962
 - 2. Indira Gandhi (1917–1984), Prime Minister, 1966–1977, 1980–1984
 - a. war with Pakistan 1971
 - b. involuntary sterilization policy carried out by Sanjay Gandhi
 - 3. Morarji Desai (1896–1995), Prime Minister, 1977–1980
 - 4. Rajiv Gandhi (1944–1991), Prime Minister, 1984–1991
- II. Pakistan (independence 1947)
 - A. Population
 - 1947 = 25 million (not including East Pakistan)
 - 1990 = 111 million
 - 2000 = 151 million
 - B. GNP per person in 1990 = US\$400
 - C. Government (Parliamentary democracy in a federal setting [tempered by military dictatorship])
 - 1. Mohammed Ali Jinnah (1876–1948), President, 1947–1948
 - 2. Ayub Khan (1907–1974), Chief Marshal Law Administrator and President, 1958–1969
 - 3. Yahya Khan (1917-1980) Chief Marshal Law Administrator and President, 1969-1971
 - a. elections, 1970
 - b. war with India, 1971
 - c. East Pakistan becomes Bangladesh with India's help
 - 4. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto (1928–1979), President, 1971–1973; Prime Minister 1973–1977
 - 5. Zia ul-Haq (1924–1988) Chief Marshal Law Administrator and President, 1977–1988
 - 6. Benazir Bhutto (1953–2007) Prime Minister 1988–1990, 1993–1996

III. Bangladesh (independence 1971)

A. Population

1947 = 50 million (at the time: East Pakistan)

1971 = 117 million

2000 = 128 million

- B. GNP per person in 1990 = US\$170
- C. Government (Parliamentary democracy [and army strongmen])
 - 1. Sheikh Mujibur Rehman (1922–1975), Prime Minister 1972–1975; President, 1975
 - 2. Ziaur Rahman (Zia) (1936–1981), President 1978–1981
 - 3. Hossain Mohammed Ershad (1930–) Chief Marshal Law Administrator, Prime Minister, and President 1982–1990
 - 4. Begum Khaleda Zia (1945–), Prime Minister 1991–1996, 2001–2006
 - 5. Sheikh Hasina (1947–), Prime Minister 1996–2001

IV Afghanistan (independence 1919)

A. Population

1920 = 5.25 million (est.)

1947 = 11 million

1979 = 13 million

1991 = 16.43 million

2002 = 27.7 million

- B. GNP per person in 1990 = US\$220
- C. Government (in transition)
 - 1. Daoud Khan (1909–1978), Prime Minister 1953–1963; President 1973–1978
 - a. proclaimed Republic of Afghanistan
 - b. assassinated in coup of April 1978
 - 2. Nur Mohammed Taraki (1917–1979), Head of Khalq faction of Communist Party
 - a. proclaimed People's Democratic Republic of Afghanistan
 - b. assassinated in coup of September 1979
 - 3. Hafizullah Amin (1929–1979). Member of Khalq faction
 - a. attempted to implement socialism immediately
 - b. assassinated in coup of December 1979
 - 4. Babrak Karmal (1929–1996) Head of Parcham faction of Communist Party
 - a. President 1980-1986
 - 5. Mohammed Najibullah (1947-1996), President 1986-1996
- D. Soviet Intervention 1979–1989
 - 1. Mujahedin
 - 2. U.S. response (Zbigniew Brzezinski, National Security Adviser 1977–1981)

V. Sri Lanka (independence 1948)

A. Population

1991 = 17 million 2001 = 18,732,255 2005 = 19,668,000

- B. GNP per person in 1990 = US\$440
- C. Government (Republic)